

# **Economic and Social Council**

Distr.: General 14 June 2022

Original: English

English and French only

Economic Commission for Africa Committee on Economic Governance First session Addis Ababa (online), 27 April 2022

### Concept note \*

## **Background to the Committee on Economic Governance**

- 1. The Conference of African Ministers of Finance, Planning and Economic Development, meeting on 25 and 26 March 2019 in Marrakech, Morocco, under resolution 966(LII) Review of the intergovernmental structure of the Economic Commission for Africa pursuant to its resolution 943(XLIX) and resolution 957(LI) 8, took note of the review of the intergovernmental structure, its findings and recommendations and endorsed the following adjustments to the intergovernmental structure of ECA:
  - (a) To organize the sectoral subsidiary organs as follows:
    - (i) Committee on Economic Governance (CEG);
    - (ii) Committee on Statistics and Data;
    - (iii) Committee on Private Sector Development, Regional Integration, Trade, Infrastructure, Industry and Technology;
    - (iv) Committee on Climate Change, Blue Economy, Agriculture and Natural Resource Management;
    - (v) Committee on Social Development, Poverty and Gender;
  - (b) To change the name of the subregional intergovernmental committees of experts to the intergovernmental committees of senior officials and experts, with a view to ensuring effective policy uptake and greater participation of senior government officials in the committees.

#### **Role of the Committee on Economic Governance**

2. In keeping with other ECA Committees, the role of the Committee on Economic Governance is derived from para. 18A. 45 of the United Nations General Assembly (2013), Proposed programme budget for the biennium 2014–2015, Part V Regional cooperation for development, Section 18, Economic and social development in Africa, A/68/6 (Sect. 18), which provides the functional and sectoral subsidiary organs of the Commission.

<sup>\*</sup> The present document is being issued without formal editing.



- 3. The role of the Committee on Economic Governance, as an advisory forum of experts and policymakers, is to coordinate the work of ECA to ensure coherence and results in the support given to member States and other stakeholders in their effort to build and strengthen economic governance institutions and policies, and foster peer learning to accelerate sustained and inclusive social and economic development. The Committee will provide evidence-based advice and guidance on economic governance issues relating to promoting sound macroeconomic management and inclusive development strategies, fighting corruption and illicit financial flows out of Africa. In addition, it will encourage networking, and support regional and global governance processes, such as the African Peer Review Mechanism, and efforts to ensure African representation in international forums, such as the Group of 20 Summit.
- 4. More specifically, drawing from this, the Committee on Economic Governance will focus on ECA subprogramme 1 (Macroeconomic Policy and Governance) and:
  - (a) Provide guidance and expert opinion on the priorities and activities of ECA;
  - (b) Review past activities and future programmes of ECA;
  - (c) Provide recommendations to strengthen ECA programmes to better serve member States and Regional Economic Communities;
  - (d) Provide policy guidance to ensure relevance of ECA activities to meet African development needs and address its critical development challenges;
  - (e) Advise on priorities for the implementation and review of the regional and international policy agendas in relation to the work of ECA;
  - (f) Provide direction on the ECA partnership with the United Nations family, the AUC and AfDB, and with other development partners;
  - (g) Coordinates the work of the CEG together with the secretariat of the committee at ECA.

# **Composition of the Committee**

- 5. Experts from ECA member States drawn from Ministries responsible for Finance, Economic Planning, Central Banks, Revenue Authorities, Financial Intelligence Units, National Statistics Offices and/or other relevant ministries and departments member States may deem relevant.
- 6. African Union Commission and the Regional Economic Communities (RECs) as observers.
- 7. Representatives of the United Nations, NGOs and civil society, as observers.
- 8. ECA as convener and secretariat of the CEG.

#### The Bureau of the Committee and its role

9. The Chairperson of the Bureau should be present at the Conference of Ministers of Finance, Planning and Economic Development.

**2/5** 22-00883

10. Each member of the Bureau should attend statutory meetings in their relevant subregions to ensure Economic Governance issues are addressed effectively at this level.

### **Election of the Bureau**

- 11. The Bureau shall have a Chair, two Vice-Chairs and two Rapporteurs.
- 12. The criteria for the election of the officers are based on geographical representation of each ECA subregion, and will take into account language and gender (See attached list of African countries per subregion).
- 13. The election of the bureau of the CEG will take place during the first session to be held in March 2022.
- 14. The bureau shall be elected every two years.
- 15. Members of the Committee and the secretariat of the Committee (ECA) shall consult on the election of the Bureau. Nominations shall be made by members of the Committee.

**3/5** 

#### Annex

## List of countries in Africa, by subregion

#### **Central Africa**

- 1. Cameroon
- 2. Central African Republic
- 3. Chad
- 4. Congo
- 5. Equatorial Guinea
- 6. Gabon
- 7. Sao Tome and Príncipe

#### **East Africa**

- 1. Burundi
- 2. Comoros
- 3. Democratic Republic of the Congo
- 4. Djibouti
- 5. Eritrea
- 6. Ethiopia
- 7. Kenya
- 8. Madagascar
- 9. Rwanda
- 10. Seychelles
- 11. Somalia
- 12. South Sudan
- 13. Uganda
- 14. United Republic of Tanzania

#### **North Africa**

- 1. Algeria
- 2. Egypt
- 3. Libya
- 4. Mauritania
- 5. Morocco
- 6. Sudan
- 7. Tunisia

4/5

## **Southern Africa**

- 1. Angola
- 2. Botswana
- 3. Eswatini
- 4. Lesotho
- 5. Malawi
- 6. Mauritius
- 7. Mozambique
- 8. Namibia
- 9. South Africa
- 10. Zambia
- 11. Zimbabwe

### West Africa

- 1. Benin
- 2. Burkina Faso
- 3. Cabo Verde
- 4. Côte d'Ivoire
- 5. Gambia
- 6. Ghana
- 7. Guinea
- 8. Guinea-Bissau
- 9. Liberia
- 10. Mali
- 11. Niger
- 12. Nigeria
- 13. Senegal
- 14. Sierra Leone
- 15. Togo

22-00883